The Weekly Haul

comics1

Good evening,

I said Weekly and I probably meant it. And what’s in the stash this week?    BPRD is on hold for a week, So we have James Bond: VARGR #6, a Warren Ellis original Bond story that’s better than it needs to be, it may be worth your time to pick up the impending trade. Captain America: Road to War #1, a one shot double-size issue of probably middling quality to promote the upcoming movie, but it also has a reprint of Tales of Suspense #58, First Iron Man and Captain America Fight, and I am a sucker for full color reprints, even if it’s Don Heck pencils. Rounding out the end we got The Flash by Grant Morrison and Mark Millar. This is a collection of a run I’ve never read, but I do like Grant Morrison’s 90’s tenure on JLA, and it looks like a lot of fun.

And then there’s this.

Last week I was burying some… stuff… in the swamp, when I unearthed a small mossy oak chest. I must have disturbed something in the process, because the skies opened and I was caught in a terrible thunderstorm. I carried the chest under my arm through the downpour to a nearby ramshackle shed I keep there, where by candle light, I smashed open the lock to find these two glorious gems:comics2

The first two issues of The Demon. What were we just talking about last week? The fortuitousness of this find deeply worries me. But inside that ancient chest were two perfectly dry, sealed copies of Jack Kirby’s Masterpiece that according to the stickers, some idiot paid a collective thirty bucks for. Let me tell you guys, if you want a great afternoon, pick up this book and read it by the flickering candle light of one of your safe house swamp shacks next Thunderstorm.

See you for the stash next week.

-Grim Doin’s

Leave a Reply

