The Weekly Haul

20160918_155829Mr. Jackson is beside himself, waiting for the weekly haul. The full moon and related rites and rituals kept me busy all last week, and I’ve much to do yet. So without further delay, let’s see what’s in the stash this week…

20160918_160154-1We cleaned out the whole folder at the shop this week, which means three consecutive issues of Klaus, Grant Morrison’s retelling of the SantaClause legend. Klaus has been fantastic so far, but I think I’ll wait until it’s more seasonally appropriate to finish reading. Then we have an Afterlife with Archie variant cover, which I mistook for a new issue, Star Wars: The Force Awakens, and a brand new Harrow County. I must admit a part of me wants to let Harrow County pile up for a few more issues, because it’s so satisfying to sit and read through in one sitting. Lastly we have two copies of Doom Patrol #1, by Gerard Way and Nick Derington. I picked up the blue cover by Jamie Hernandez, and after the fact, discovered that the much more bland cover with the pink gyro was a blatant reference to the album art of The Velvet Underground & Nico by Andy Warhol, complete with peel-away sticker reveal. That’s how they get my money. I’m an evil swamp ghoul, but that is unfair. Doom Patrol was either fantastic, or beginners luck, I am not sure yet. It was full of great ideas and imagery, the art was fantastic. But it also has a lot of what I fear may be ‘weird for the sake of weird’, which I don’t like as much as story. But that remains to be seen, they certainly have my attention for a few more issues, this book was a lot of fun. What really got me was a sequence  taking place on an alien desert planet inside a discarded gyro, where a moon-sized fly filled up the sky, and a cloak wearing Robot fought a bunch of people in a desert city. It was a very European, Heavy Metal kind of story riff, and as long as there is more of that stuff, and the weirdness pays off to interesting ends instead of being charming quirk, this might be one of DC’s best new titles.

That’s it for this week boils and Ghouls, I’m sorry I can’t stay longer, but the sun sets on summer and soon the gates will open to the Autumn land, where Nilbog stands watch over the fields that border this world and the next. There is so much to do before then, children. Don’t forget to mark your doorways and sing the old songs, until next time, boo beleivers.

-Grim Doin’s

Leave a Reply

