The Weekly Haul Rides Again

 

That’s right you impatient little bastards, The weekly Haul is back. It has been a long, long time since our last transmission, but I’ve been combing through ancient Grecian libraries, creeping through the catacombs of Prague, storming fascist castles and getting into blimp fights over Rome. You have no idea the hell I’ve been through, but suffice it to say, I Planted Baron  Vogelscheuche and his goons in the ground (or possibly, blasted them into space) and something that belongs in a museum will finally adorn my mantelpiece. I write to you now from a log cabin I own deep in the black forrest, to the sound of light rain. In a few hours I’ll be flying back to my beloved swamp home and to the lovely Widow Sunday and my dear friend, Kittycat Jackson. But enough tales of globetrotting high adventure, we’re here to talk about comics. Let’s see what’s in the stash today, shall we?

20170521_142405

Perhaps in the next edition will feature more, as once I am stateside, I have a whole month’s worth of comics to catch up on, but in my travels I have managed to find a handful of outlets selling American comics, as well as swiping some off of dead sell-swords. From a little bookshop in Lucerne, I found a recent issue of Harrow County as well as my other favorite current series, Papergirls #3 and #11, the latest issue, and one featuring my favorite page in the series:

Pg 3
File Photo

I also came across the first issues of All-New Guardians of the Galaxy, Bug!, and Star Wars: The Screaming Citadel. Guardians is fun, written by Gerry Duggan, so the comedy beats are actually funny (Brian Bendis is a solid writer but he is not funny) and drawn by some guy going for a mid 80’s Moebius look. Bug! is a solo book following Forager from New Genesis, as he encounters other bizarre Kirby DC characters like The Sandman. This is written and drawn by Mike Allred, and spinning off his excellent Silver Surfer run, continues to tell interesting stories while playing with some of Jack Kirby’s coolest toys. The Screaming Citadel caught my attention as a Star Wars Horror Miniseries, and is so far, pretty great, the over-sized first issue kept me company on a train ride to Bukovina.

After dispatching with a would-be assassin in Istanbul, I raided his car for clues and found copies of Moonshine and The Damned. Moonshine follows prohibition-era Appalachian distillers who happen to be werewolves in a war with the mob, written and drawn by the 100 Bullets team of Brian Azzerello and Eduardo Risso, It was a damn good read. Likewise, The Damned, (sharing a name with my favorite band) is from the Sixth Gun team of Cullen Bunn and Brian Hurtt, telling a similar but different tale of prohibition era mob wars orchestrated by rival families of Demons, craving blood sacrifice. Clearly this guy had a very specific taste for  supernatural crime fiction set in 1920’s America, but hey, that’s not bad taste. Lastly I couldn’t resist a smash and grab in Prague when I saw those two Kirby covers in the window, Kamandi featuring Superman’s suit, and Something called Woodgod which I’ve never even heard of, but was determined to own.20170521_142451

I grabbed these two books while casing a beer hall in Munich last week. Surveilance is boring work with or without beer, so I picked up Batgirl/ Robin Year One, with art from Marcos Martin and Javier Pulido, two favorites of mine. And following the strong suggestion of my contact in Athens, I got Wonder Woman by George Perez Volume 1. I’ve always been a fan of Wonder Woman, (she closely resembles the Widow Sunday, in fact) but I confess I’ve never been a fan or George Perez. He is lauded in the industry, but his work just never did it for me, and his pages are cramped and busy. However, I do admire his sense of perspective and architectural design, and this particular volume is written mostly by Len Wein, a favorite of mine. 20170521_142520

I was happy to find this series oddly superior to the rest of Perez’s work that I’ve seen, he leaves his compositions more open, and adopts a more sketchy style of rendering and shading. His attention to minute detail which is often mistaken for drawing ability, here lends itself to the costumes and settings of Greek Mythology. The whole book is like a Ray Harryhausen monster movie with a bad ass warrior woman who looks like my wife running around and fighting monsters, it’s a lot more fun than I expected. The attempts at feminist storytelling, are often cringingly off the mark, it was written by two men in the 80’s who’s idea of progress is a little dated, but at the end of the day they are still fun stories.

And that is all the energy I have today, boils and Ghouls. I am going to sleep now, and soon head back home. God willing, this feature will return to a weekly routine when I get there. Until then, happy snails to you.

-Grim Doin’s

Leave a Reply

